My 21st

Well, it isn’t my birthday. But I’m 21, yeah. I used to think that turning 21 was gonna be a huge turning point in my life cuz well, lets face it. You get to do EVERYTHING when you’re 21!

But then when I really turned 21, it hit me. I felt old. I ACTUALLY felt old. As I browsed through pictures of my juniors, I thought to myself, “Damn, I look old compared to them!”

And that was when my mentality of “turning 21 = old” began. Sigh.

It was not until a couple of moments ago, that I thought to myself. The last 10 months of being 21 has been one of the greatest moments of my life, hence, me quickly penning this down before I forget.

Out of the 10, I have been with Windy for 5. And the remaining 5 was filled with all other random things including me, Amanda and Leon applying to transfer to Melbourne and frantically looking for a house to live in which has now, transformed into a home. 🙂

The homesick feeling has never left me. I’ve been homesick the moment I bid Totoro and Pops goodbye at the airport. I’ve cried myself to sleep many times at night thinking about them, about Windy. But I told myself, this is my time. My chance to prove to myself and everyone else that I too, can be independent and I am able to take good care of myself without having my loved ones worry about me. Yes, Mich, you can do this.

Of course, every now and then I feel lonely especially during the nights. But well, this is the path I chose. Totoro always rubs it in by saying, “See, I asked you a million times if this is really what you want and you said yes!”. Well, maybe I KINDA wanted this. Haha, but like I’ve said, I chose this path. I will go through it no matter how hard it is.

Plus, I can’t be more than thankful for the people that can’t wait till I go home for summer! Totoro, Pops, Windy, Poh Poh and Kung Kung, my uncles and aunts, Annie, Darren. Gosh, the list just goes on and on! And these are the times I am SO thankful and grateful that I have such a beautiful family.

And not forgetting friends, gosh! The Seafield bunch, the MUSA bunch, gosh I never thought that I’d say this but I’ve never missed all of them this much.

As of today, there are only 66 days left till I’m back in KL. Bring it on Monash!!!

With love,
Michie

September 14, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

